Remote Fuse Panel Installation

This post describes the installation of a Centech AP-2 auxiliary fuse panel on my ’84 R100RS.  This fuse panel has two separate busses, allowing for both switched and un-switched connections.  For information about the Centech AP-2 click here.

fuse-block-finishedI chose the AP-2 because of it’s simplicity and because of it’s rugged construction – both consistent with this motorcycle.  There are few mounting locations available that provide accessibility,  weather protection, and no requirement to modify the motorcycle frame or bodywork.  The position I choose was a compromise.  It provides good accessibility and no requirement to modify the motorcycle.  However it isn’t well protected from weather, and may need something to protect it from the elements.

I mounted the fuse panel to the left side of the battery’s hold down frame.  I made a bracket by cutting out two rectangular pieces of sheet aluminum with four mounting holes that would attach to the hold down by sandwiching the diagonal piece of the hold down frame.

I decided to try applying a rubberized coating to the bracket pieces by dipping them in Plasti Dip.  The shape of bracket pieces made getting a smooth surface more difficult than I anticipated.  The coating was too thick and dripped away leaving lumpy streaks.  I ended up painting on the coating with the bracket pieces laying flat.  It would have been easier if I had thinned the Plasti Dip solution with one of the recommended thinners.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any of the recommend thinners handy.

fuse-block-dip-in-plasti-dip

The back side of the AP-2 has exposed circuit board traces. I insulated them by applying several thick coats of Liquid Tape.

fuse-block-liquid-tape

This mounting location resulted in a clearance problem. The upper rear corner of the fuse panel was too close to the motorcycle frame.  I was able to shift the bracket forward about 5 millimeters by cutting a notch in the inner bracket allowing it to clear the lip of the battery frame.

To trigger the relay for the switched circuits, I used a posi-tap to access the tail light circuit.  This excellent location was suggested to me by Anton Largiader.

Jim Wilson sent me photographs of an beautifully crafted plastic box he made for mounting a fuse panel on his motorcycle.  My mounting location doesn’t have enough clearance for such a box – hence the AP-2 on my motorcycle is exposed to the weather.  It may be that spraying the panel occasionally with WD-40 or Deoxit may protect it adequately.  If not, I may have to revisit this mounting location.

Leave a comment